Just a few coins

There are no circulation coins directly attributable to Ivory Coast. The West African States coins are used in circulation there. The only non-circulating legal tender coins for the Ivory Coast were a short series of gold and silver proof coins in 1966. Ivory Coast had attained independence from France on 7th August 1960.

Ivory Coast 10 Francs 1966
One of the few coins issued by the government of Ivory Coast. (Image from Cliff Anderson)

The currency used in Ivory Coast is a common currency - the “CFA Franc (West)”.

The “CFA Franc (West)” is the common currency of Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo. These eight countries form the West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU), whose common central bank is the Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO). The coins circulating in these countries are issued by the BCEAO are are inscribed in French “BANQUE CENTRALE DES ETATS DE L’AFRIQUE DE L’OUEST”. The catologues list these coins under “West African States” for which there is a separate section here too.


Back to AFRICA main page.