Just a few coins

There are no circulation coins directly attributable to Senegal. There are a few non-circulating legal tender coins though and these are a series of gold coins in 1968 and a series of gold and silver coins in 1975.

Senegal 50 Francs 1975
The Senegal 1975 dated 50 Francs coin. Part of the “Eurafrique” series produced by
the Pobjoy Mint. Scale approximately 150 dpi. (Image from Eugene Freeman)

The currency used in Senegal is a common currency - the “CFA Franc (West)”.

The “CFA Franc (West)” is the common currency of Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo. These eight countries form the West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU), whose common central bank is the Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO). The coins circulating in these countries are issued by the BCEAO are are inscribed in French “BANQUE CENTRALE DES ETATS DE L’AFRIQUE DE L’OUEST”. The catologues list these coins under “West African States” for which there is a separate section here too.


Back to AFRICA main page.

Page first started at January 2001.
Image of 50 Francs 1975 added at August 2005.